Erased

Erased

9 April 2017

 

This is the first week of ten, and the last term of my education.  Getting a second Master’s doesn’t negate my first one.  In fact, the first complements the second because it is communication based.  Writer’s need to know how to effectively communicate across a wide palette.  Degrees aren’t erased and cannot be taken away.

Life, on the other hand, continues to remain interesting.  I don’t go looking for information.  It shows up in random places.  Recently I discovered I have been erased.  Not only have I been erased, but a life I once knew was erased.  Gone.  No traces.  No existence.

How can a character so cruel?  This is a question I ask as I move forward in my thesis writing and get back to Natalie and her horrible fiancé, Nick.  Up through chapter five, we’ve seen a shady side of Nick that not many of us like to see.  Nick will begin to grow worse.

These next eight weeks of classes will be just as challenging, if not more, than last term.  There’s a final push to complete my 35,000 word novel, and I am taking a literature course with a 15-20 page research paper due at the end.  My focus still remains on my education, but I’m also looking forward to some of the traveling I have planned; mostly for work, and one trip for SNHU graduation.  Even a few days away will help me immensely.  I’m used to reading, writing and studying from airports, hotels, planes, trains and automobiles.  I am 120% ready for the challenges incorporated into this term and life.  I may still stumble along the way, but will bounce back to my feet with an undetermined amount of strength.  Bring it on!

In the end, I have not faded away, out of existence, or erased.  In fact, it’s just the opposite.  As my cousin told me, I’m very much here.  In the face of reality, I haven’t done anything wrong; I have no shame, and I certainly don’t deserve all that has happened in life.  I will take full credit for my accomplishments during times of trials and tribulations.  I have a significant amount of strength buried underneath my exterior, and it’s the determination to see these next ten weeks through that is not only going to be my saving grace, but will also be a true testament of the woman that I am.

As for Natalie and Nick?  Well, the story begins to unravel in nine short weeks.

Leave a Reply

