Closing Doors

Closing Doors

20 January 2017

Alexander Graham Bell once said, “When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us.”  Before all of the lemons, stolen sunrises/sunsets, and rising action, I only saw partially open doors.  I couldn’t see opportunities that may have opened and closed doors and there are numerous reasons for this.  Sometimes it’s hard to move forward when you are being held back.  Sometimes the resources aren’t in place or the timing isn’t right.

I am staring at a couple of doors; some open, some closed.  The ones that are open are halfway closed, but the other doors remain tightly shut. I am excited to see new doors open and what awaits once I pass through.  While I admit I am scared, as this feeling is part of human nature, of the unknown, I am also excited.

This week my fifth term, of six, began.  This is the new road where I begin to write my thesis-a novel.  I am taking two classes again as a full-time student as I try to juggle my full-time job and the task of still trying to make that perfect lemon drink after I was gifted with lemons.  I feel a little liberated as my husband walked out of the house before me the other day and I remained behind to close and lock the door.  The clicking of the latchbolt making contact with the door frame was reassuring.

As I think about my upcoming novel writing, I also think about doors that my character will see open and close.  Even as I race to the end of my degree, I already know there will be several doors opening.  While my character will need to make more immediate choices on the doors she wants to keep open or close tightly, I have a longer journey in making those choices.  My only immediate choice is looking at a door that is slowly beginning to close as each day goes by.

Leave a Reply

